Board of Directors

VRA’s Board of Directors consists of seven members appointed by the Governor of Virginia and confirmed by the General Assembly for four-year staggered terms, and four ex-officio members: the State Treasurer, the State Health Commissioner, the Director of the Department of Environmental Quality and the Director of the Department of Aviation. The Chairman of the Board of Directors is designated by the Governor.

Mr. Harris is the retired County Administrator of Hanover County. He began working for Hanover County in 1984 and has served in various capacities prior to becoming County Administrator in 2004. Term expires June 30, 2024.

Mr. Branscome is the Vice President of Julius Branscome Inc./Branscome Paving Co. in Manassas, Virginia and is a second-generation contractor working with the family business started in 1963. Mr. Branscome has served on the Board of Directors for the Old Dominion Highway Contractors Association and the Virginia Asphalt Association and has served as President for both associations. Term expires June 30, 2026.

Ms. Bunting is the City Manager of Hampton, Virginia, a position she’s held since 2009. Ms. Bunting began her career with the City of Hampton as an assistant to the city manager in January of 1990. In January 1995 she was promoted to assistant city manager. Term expires June 30, 2024.

Governor Glenn Youngkin appointed Greg Campbell as the Director of the Virginia Department of Aviation effective February 14, 2022. Mr. Campbell had served as Executive Director of the Shenandoah Valley Regional Airport (SHD) since 1992.

Ms. Donnellan is President and CEO of Castle Gray Associates, LLC, a consulting firm specializing in coaching, leadership development, and governmental affairs. A former Arlington County Manager, Ms. Donnellan began working for Arlington County in 1983 and served as its County Manager from 2010 until her retirement in 2015. Term expires June 30, 2025.

Mr. Kittrell is the Deputy State Director for The Nature Conservancy in Virginia where he has worked since 1991. He served for nine years on the board of the Albemarle County Service Authority. Term expires June 30, 2024.

Governor Glenn Youngkin appointed David L. Richardson as the State Treasurer effective June 2, 2022. Prior to his appointment as Treasurer, Mr. Richardson had recently retired after almost 44 years at the McGuireWoods law firm, where he specialized in tax-exempt bond financings for state and local governments and agencies, public and private colleges and universities, private schools, hospitals, retirement communities and other non-profits.

Governor Glenn Youngkin appointed Mike Rolband as the Director of DEQ effective January 5, 2022. Mr. Rolband founded Wetland Studies and Solutions Inc. in 1991, which focuses on environmental permitting and mitigation banking for private and public land and infrastructure development projects. Mr. Rolband established the nonprofit Wetland Research Initiative in 2007 to fund applied research in wetlands creation, restoration, and enhancement activities.

Governor Glenn Youngkin appointed Dr. Karen Shelton as the State Health Commissioner effective May 1, 2023. Dr. Shelton, a board-certified obstetrician and gynecologist, treated patients in Bristol for nearly 20 years before turning her focus to public health. She first joined the Virginia Department of Health in 2016 to lead the Mount Rogers Health District.

As President and Chief Operating Officer of Atlantic Union Bank, Ms. Tedesco leads all business lines, including consumer and commercial banking, treasury management, equipment finance, and consumer and auto lending. Before joining Atlantic Union Bank in 2018 as the bank’s first female president, she led BMO Harris Bank’s U.S. retail operations as its Chief Operating Officer. Term expires June 30, 2027.

Dr. Charlette T. Woolridge has over 25 years of executive management experience in local and state government. Dr. Woolridge currently serves as the County Administrator for the County of Greensville. Term expires June 30, 2024.